Blessed

Ok, let’s give this another try!

While I desire to update everyone on everything, I know that it would result in an inordinately and ridiculously long post, one that not even I would like to read through! So, I will summarize as best I can to catch everyone up and simply move forward from there. There is no way that I can express in words, even written, what all has occurred and the amazing blessings from God along the way….

Since the wedding, I spent 10 amazing and blissful days with my hubby…

He has been at our base in Germany ever since. While this has been difficult, to say the least, it has provided unique opportunities for us to grow closer to God as well as in our marriage. I know that God will restore our time when we are reunited soon 🙂 especially during our 4-day trip to Milan, Italy for Valentines Day!!!

In the meantime, I have gone from impatient to frustrated to peaceful to impatient again… sometimes all at once, if possible. Through it all, my patient and loving husband has been supportive of me (quitting my job, changing my school plans, figuring out our new way of life) and understanding of my needs and has been working hard to get me there as soon as possible! I am so proud of him!! He has been working hard, training diligently, and playing some 🙂 He LOVES Germany (except for the cold!) and has traveled to Prague, Munich, etc. I told him NO more traveling until I get there!

He is doing very well, considering being in a new country with new people and a new job without his wife and family over the holidays (including his birthday!) and has remained strong and enduring… He truly is an amazing man and wonderful husband! However, he does miss me 🙂 (he would be in big trouble if he didn’t haha)… and I know will be MUCH happier once I am in his arms again. We are looking forward to settling into our house, exploring the country, and getting accustomed to our new life. Please keep us in your prayers as we continue in our journey!!

Some have asked what they can do for us… well, money always helps 🙂 just kidding… but not really…

But seriously, the best and most important thing you can do for us is pray. This short separation will be just a memory soon, and we will be blessed with time together in Europe, however we do face the reality of deployment. Continue to keep us in your thoughts and prayers as we prepare for this. What you CAN do, is email us! Encouragement, verses, devotions, etc… oo and recipes! I am unsure of what our needs will be until I arrive in Germany, but I will keep everyone updated as much as possible!

In the meantime, I have been passing the time with reading, movies, and ALOT of cooking… Austin is going to be a happy soldier with all the homecooking I will be doing 🙂 I’ve been “cooking up a storm”, as Momma Renee has said! Hopefully my newlywed body is not feeling the effects too much…. Austin has a diet and exercise plan already prepared for us upon my arrival! Which I am very excited about… but until then, I’m taste-testing various cookie recipes! Don’t tell him that… 🙂

God really spoke to me through the Passion conference in Atlanta right after New Years…. what an amazing opportunity! I came by a free ticket, and found another one for my sister of the heart, Heather. I cannot even begin to describe our 4-day experience! I am SO blessed by her friendship, and even more blessed that we were able to have a meaningful and life-changing experience with God together. Oh my goodness, I get excited just thinking about it! I’ll leave it at that… Otherwise I will go on and on and on… Just know that God used our friendship in a powerful way, and moved in our lives that weekend.

My other best friend, Jennifer, got engaged!!! And as MoH (Maid of Honor), I know there will be many days of Skype-planning ahead! It’s really cool to see where we are now… I remember talking about getting married when we were like, 12 years old. Our hopes and dreams, and where we wanted to be 10 years down the road… well here we are, 10 almost 11 years later… and it’s even better than we imagined 🙂

I was talking with a dear friend today about life… I know, very deep. But in our discussion, I began to realize even more how blessed I am! We talked about where we were a year ago, and what we’ve been through to get to where we are today. Alot of waiting, and feeling like there was something bigger ahead, but we just couldn’t reach it yet. Alot of discomfort, alot of misunderstandings, alot of growth, alot of trying to figure things out on our own and being unable to, losing “control”, surrendering to God, and eventually letting him work and trusting in His timing… While I know this seems VERY vague (again, I could elaborate and create a book) it just made me remember how truly blessed we are when we “lose control” and let God take the driver’s seat. He is living for His own glory, knowing that our ultimate joy is found in our giving Him the glory… we don’t have to give up  joy to live for God. Living for God IS our joy! And our ultimate blessing from God…

Austin and I are where we are today because we gave ourselves up to Christ. His timing, His will, His way… and while we are human, and know we will make mistakes, and make each other angry or frustrated throughout our marriage, we also see the bigger picture, and that is what will keep us together – through good times and bad, through leave and deployment, we find our joy and peace in Christ. Even in times such as now, while we are separated… we are blessed.

Matthew 5

3“You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.

4“You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.

5“You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are—no more, no less. That’s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can’t be bought.

6“You’re blessed when you’ve worked up a good appetite for God. He’s food and drink in the best meal you’ll ever eat.

7“You’re blessed when you care. At the moment of being ‘care-full,’ you find yourselves cared for.

8“You’re blessed when you get your inside world—your mind and heart—put right. Then you can see God in the outside world.

9“You’re blessed when you can show people how to cooperate instead of compete or fight. That’s when you discover who you really are, and your place in God’s family.

10“You’re blessed when your commitment to God provokes persecution. The persecution drives you even deeper into God’s kingdom.

About Eskew

I'm 23 years old and married to the love of my life, Austin, a medic in the US Army... The next few years hold deployment, figuring out school, and life in general. Life is changing for both of us, and through it all we are keeping God the center and growing closer to Him and each other, even though we will be far apart at times. This is to keep family and friends updated on our life, and for God to use as He sees fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment