Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

Don’t know when I’ll be back again….

FINALLY!!! The day has arrived… I am LEAVING for Germany TODAY!!!

So many emotions… Excited. Able to be with my husband for more than a few days at a time. New place. New people. New house. New life. Anxious. All of the above. Being a wife WITH my husband, rather than just over the phone. Unknown place. ALL new people. My own house to take care of. Almost everything different from all I’ve known.

As some know, I struggle with a “go with the flow” attitude at times. I claim to have some spontaneity… as long as it’s planned 🙂 So this army life thing has provided endless opportunities for God to teach me a few things. One of them being, be grateful for what you DO have, what you DO know, and focus on those things, and THEN how God is working through the rest. For example: as of right now, we will not get our house when I get there (2-6 week waiting list). We will not get our stuff for 60+ days. I have to pack my life for the next two to three months in 3 bags (that weigh more than I do!). Austin does not get 10 days leave upon my arrival.

So as all of these “worries” weigh on my mind, God has reminded me once again that through these “struggles”, no matter how silly they may be, I have alot to be thankful for! I will be getting my own house that I don’t have to pay for. We have a place to stay for free with friends until we get our house (providing opportunities to show people how God is working with me & Austin). When I do get my house, I will then have stuff to put in it – I’m getting my things eventually, and in the meantime Austin and I will learn to live even more simply and enjoy the things that we do have, as well as experience the graciousness of our new friends and neighbors as they provide for and help us. I will have opportunities to rest and just be calm, and will learn when it is the right time to push forward with paperwork and office visits. And most importantly, I have TIME with my husband :)and an array of unique opportunities within our marriage to learn and grow.

Please pray as I’m traveling, that God will keep a protective hedge around me, calm my nerves, help me sleep when I need to, stay sane as I make my way around people who don’t know what they’re doing in an airport, through security quickly and easily, experience little to no problems changing planes, my luggage makes it with me, and Austin is ready and waiting for me to run into his arms.

I don’t know what the Internet situation will be like the first few days, but I will try to update as soon as possible. In the meantime, keep praying! I’m about to embark on a new adventure… and my REAL life as an Army wife begins.

About Eskew

I'm 23 years old and married to the love of my life, Austin, a medic in the US Army... The next few years hold deployment, figuring out school, and life in general. Life is changing for both of us, and through it all we are keeping God the center and growing closer to Him and each other, even though we will be far apart at times. This is to keep family and friends updated on our life, and for God to use as He sees fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment