Genesis Week

The origin or coming into being of something; the beginning.

God spoke… and there it was. (And it was good!)

The story of Genesis – the beginning. Some think that Genesis ended in the Old Testament. But Genesis – the coming into being of something – is happening in God’s work everyday. He created a new beginning in fallen man through Jesus. And everyday, He creates a new work in me… a fresh start.

This will always be true in a spiritual aspect. However, I find myself in a new place – a physical Genesis of sorts. I am entering into a new life! All of my friends will change (friends that I see on a regular basis). The way I go about things – filling out job applications, finding out information, housing, money, etc. is all different. The people I meet & their life experiences. Snow covering the ground for more than a few hours!!

Along with my new environment, I am finding that I am in need of a new attitude as well. While very excited and positive to move here (and of course ecstatic to finally be with my husband!), I had some expectations or ideas about this place that are totally different from reality. These first few days have been a roller coaster!! Much of this is a result from sleep deprivation and a completely new schedule… I know this will get better over time as I am acclimated to my new surroundings and schedule. However crazy my day, or how sleepy I get… at the end of the day, praying beside my husband, I know that it doesn’t matter where I am living or what each day holds… I know Who holds me and my days.

Through this experience, even in just the first few days of it… I have realized the importance of praying for a good attitude and a fresh spirit each day. If I hold on to things for too long or worry over all that I have to do, I just get overwhelmed and get nothing done. SO….

My verse that I have been dwelling in since arriving is Isaiah 51:10. I like the NIV and the Message versions… they go hand in hand: “Create in me a pure heart, O God, renew a steadfast spirit within me.” and “Make a fresh start in me, shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.”

My prayer this week (and in the upcoming weeks) is for God to create a Genesis week out of the chaos of my life. For Him to speak, and there it be… That I won’t attempt to figure things out all on my own, but rely on Him to make all things good.

The first answer to prayer has been the amazing and gracious people we are staying with. What a blessing! While we continue to wait on housing, instead of holing up in a hotel (that we would mostly pay for), we are able to stay with one of Austin’s friends and his wife in on-post housing! We are becoming fast friends 🙂 and it’s been wonderful to have information about what we need to do next. Please pray that my transition and our move to housing and the ensuing paperwork goes smoothly. I’ll try to post pictures soon!

About Eskew

I'm 23 years old and married to the love of my life, Austin, a medic in the US Army... The next few years hold deployment, figuring out school, and life in general. Life is changing for both of us, and through it all we are keeping God the center and growing closer to Him and each other, even though we will be far apart at times. This is to keep family and friends updated on our life, and for God to use as He sees fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment