Stay On Course

You’re blessed when you stay on course, walking steadily on the road revealed by God.

You’re blessed when you follow his directions,
doing your best to find him.
That’s right—you don’t go off on your own;
you walk straight along the road he set.
You, God, prescribed the right way to live;
now you expect us to live it.
Oh, that my steps might be steady,
keeping to the course you set;
Then I’d never have any regrets
in comparing my life with your counsel.
I thank you for speaking straight from your heart;
I learn the pattern of your righteous ways.
I’m going to do what you tell me to do;
don’t ever walk off and leave me.

Psalm 119:1-8

Hurry up…. and wait.

The unspoken motto of the Army. I’m learning more and more everyday about patience… and timing. And most importantly, the cruciality of my reliance on God in every moment. The second I begin to move forward on my own, I get overwhelmed… and react accordingly.

Fortunately for me (but unfortunately for my loving husband), I have Austin to quickly remind me of my attitude and the need to take it one day, one piece of paperwork, one moment at a time. When I start having a bad attitude, I realize – sometimes too late- how my thoughts, attitude, and approach to things affect others, especially my loved ones.

While some might say I have every excuse to be feeling overwhelmed lately – completely new environment, living with people I met a week ago, husband working, no car, having to rely heavily on others for every piece of information, being by myself the majority of the day with no way to go anywhere, etc – I live with the knowledge and peace that God’s plans are bigger than mine and His plans are ALWAYS in my best interest.

Now, as my husband will be the first to tell you… I’m not perfect!! 🙂 I don’t always have the best attitude or keep God’s purposes at the forefront of my thinking at all times. I have definitely had my moments of being restless, unhappy, confused, sad, overwhelmed… BUT through it all, with the patient, lovingkindness of Austin, I live each day knowing that God has me here for a reason – and He has me here, without a car, without my own house, with a LOT of time to myself – and is moving me toward something even greater. I am prepared for what lies ahead… always more paperwork of course! Ready for my car, ready for a job, ready for my house… ready for the next step that God has in store for us. I just need to stay on course, and walk to road God has before me.

So! On to slightly less deep thinking… The highlight of my week could very likely be going to see a movie tomorrow! 🙂 At the one-screen theater on base… I’m actually very excited… such a change for me! I’m so used to being able to choose being at home vs. running errands and finding something to do with friends. Texting when I’m bored, or just taking the car to the grocery store. Here, at least right now, I wait till Austin is home and we can borrow a car or catch a ride to the store. We check movie times – do you want to see this movie at 5:30 or this movie at 7? And the answer isn’t, well what about this movie at this time? It’s yes or no. But this new lifestyle is teaching me to enjoy the little things in life. I thought I had this perspective before… but now I am truly beginning to understand the meaning of living simply. I am blessed to have a roof over my head and a bed to sleep in at night. I am blessed to have plastic containers to keep my clothes in. I am beyond blessed to have every day with my wonderful husband and enjoy just laying on the couch watching the boys play a video game… Thank you Lord for your goodness and how you care about the little things in my life. And if it’s your will… please give the people who work in the offices some work ethic and let them work quickly on our housing! 🙂

This week: snow. hot cocoa. read. check housing, finance, s-1 (human resources), bank, housing again, job listings… and enjoy every second with Austin.

Next week: repeat! and celebrate with the hubs holidays + birthday with some pecan pie!!!

Good times now. Better times are coming. I’m waiting with joyful anticipation.

That’s why I don’t think there’s any comparison between the present hard times and the coming good times. The created world itself can hardly wait for what’s coming next. Everything in creation is being more or less held back. God reins it in until both creation and all the creatures are ready and can be released at the same moment into the glorious times ahead. Meanwhile, the joyful anticipation deepens.

Romans 8:18-21

About Eskew

I'm 23 years old and married to the love of my life, Austin, a medic in the US Army... The next few years hold deployment, figuring out school, and life in general. Life is changing for both of us, and through it all we are keeping God the center and growing closer to Him and each other, even though we will be far apart at times. This is to keep family and friends updated on our life, and for God to use as He sees fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment