A Cup of Tea

“I need oil,” said an ancient monk, so he planted an olive sapling. “Lord,” he prayed, “it needs rain that its tender roots may drink and swell. Send gentle showers.” And the Lord sent gentle showers. “Lord,” prayed the monk, “my tree needs sun. Send sun, I pray thee.” And the sun shone, gilding the dripping clouds. “Now frost, my Lord, to brace its tissues,” cried the monk. And behold, the little tree stood sparkling with frost, but at evening it died.

Then the monk sought out the cell of a brother monk, and told his strange experience. “I, too, planted a little tree,” he said, “and see! It thrives well. But I entrust my tree to its God. He who made it knows better what it needs than a man like me. I laid no condition. I fixed not ways or means. ‘Lord, send what it needs.’ I prayed, ‘storm or sunshine, wind, rain, or frost. Thou hast made it and Thou dost know.'”

I read this story in a book I am reading for an Army wives Bible study… The study is about calming an anxious heart (perfect for me! haha), and I have been reading about contentment despite circumstances and God’s control over mine. I think God is trying to tell me something….

The book uses a teacup analogy –  that like tea must be infused into water, God must infuse contentment into us, and through that we get tea or in our case, His strength to face all circumstances with contentment.

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:11-13)

I have found meaning in this verse and significance in the Christ-given strength through, not in spite of circumstances. I will never be able to take this on until I untwine my control from the strength Christ gives me. This is done through finding contentment. But  how can I do this? There are so many things to worry about and things on my list demanded my time and attention. How can I be content no matter what?

INFUSE: to cause to be permeated with something that alters usually for the better; to introduce one thing into another so as to affect it throughout; implies a pouring in of something that gives new life or significance.

“He infuses contentment into us through His Word. As it seeps into our minds, it transforms us. Just as a cup of tea gets stronger when we give it time to steep, so we become more content when we spend time in God’s Word and allow it to seep into our lives, transforming us to be like Him.”

So many times I have prayed Philippians 4:13… God, give me your strength, help me do this or that with your strength… and I wonder why I don’t feel an immediate surge of strength and ability to do whatever it is that I need to do.

However, I was missing part of the point… I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me, and I can do these things because I know that in ALL situations it is Christ alone who can and will strengthen me. He does not hand out strength according to our need or our circumstances… He is continually strengthening us as we continue to find our contentment in Him, like the tea that is becoming stronger the longer it steeps.

Back to the story of the monks… So many times I am the first monk, praying for what I think I need, or someone else needs. “God give me strength to handle this situation.” Instead of, “God give me what you know I need right now, whether it be time alone, a friend, an encouraging word, a challenge…” God uses each circumstance, good and bad, easy and hard, to infuse opportunities to be content as we grow into His strength –  as we find our contentment in Him rather than our circumstances.

“I know of no greater simplifier for all of life. Whatever happens is assigned. Does the intellect balk at that? Can we say that there are things that happen to us that do not belong to our lovingly assigned “portion”, saying this belongs to it and that doesn’t? Are some things, then, out of control of the Almighty? Every assignment is measured and controlled for my eternal good. As I accept the given portion other options are canceled. Decisions become much easier, directions clearer, and hence my heart becomes inexpressibly quieter. A quiet heart is content with what God gives.”

*written at a later time*

This morning, God brought me into Psalms (specifically 18 and 19). I have been reading in The Message lately, and it has given a whole new light to these passages. God is really speaking to me, and pushing me onward toward embracing the contentment that is always open and available in Him.

God made my life complete when I placed all the pieces before Him. When I got my act together, He gave me a fresh start. Now I’m alert to God’s ways; I don’t take God for granted. Every day I review the ways He works; I try not to miss a trick. I feel put back together, and I’m watching my step. God rewrote the text of my life when I opened the book of my heart to His eyes. ” (18:20-24)

What a God! His road stretches straight and smooth. Every God-direction is road-tested. Everyone who runs toward him Makes it.” (18:30)

The revelation of God is a whole and pulls our lives together. The signposts of God are clear and point out the road ahead. The life-maps of God are right, showing the way to joy. The directions of God are plain and easy on the eyes. God’s reputation is twenty-four-carat gold, with a lifetime guarantee. The decisions of God are accurate down to the nth degree. God’s Word is better than a diamond, better than a diamond set between emeralds. You’ll like it better than strawberries in spring, better than red, ripe strawberries. There’s more: God’s word warns us of danger and directs us to hidden treasure. Otherwise how will we find our way? Or know when we play the fool? Clean the slate, God, so we can start the day fresh! Keep me from stupid sins, from thinking I can take over your work. Then I can start this day sun-washed, scrubbed clean of the grime of sin. These are the words in my mouth; these are what I chew on and pray. Accept them when I place them on the morning altar, O God, my Altar-Rock.…” (19:7-14)

While this life is no “cup of tea” (haha, had to throw that in there 🙂 ) I am learning every day to accept my portion – my physical and emotional being, my abilities, circumstances, roles, and relationships – with the perspective that God determines what is best for my cup. God has given me this portion, this cup of tea…. I can refuse to take it, throwing it out in preference for what I think is best – OR I can grasp it by the handle and lift it to Him saying, “I accept Lord.”

Lord, send what I need. You have made me, and You alone know what I need…

About Eskew

I'm 23 years old and married to the love of my life, Austin, a medic in the US Army... The next few years hold deployment, figuring out school, and life in general. Life is changing for both of us, and through it all we are keeping God the center and growing closer to Him and each other, even though we will be far apart at times. This is to keep family and friends updated on our life, and for God to use as He sees fit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment